Angus F. Macgillivray Art Bursary

Angus F. Macgillivray, The Stations of The Cross, XI, Jesus is nailed to The Cross, detail

The Art Department at StFX distributes bursaries each year in honour of the late Angus F. Macgillivray, a former member of the department.

Angus F. Macgillivray was a sculptor in the medium of wood. Many of his artworks were designed for the StFX community. He is most well-known for his “Stations of The Cross” which hang in the university chapel. The series is a metaphorical interpretation of the Passion, and in their abstraction they present a quiet spirituality.

The Angus F. Macgillivray Bursary allows for multiple monetary awards to be presented to Art Studio and Art History students. A three-member jury determines the Art Studio bursaries after reviewing submitted portfolios. The Art History award is presented to the senior student with the highest academic achievement while studying towards a Minor or Subsidiary in Art History.

Art Studio portfolios are submitted in mid-March each year, with selected students notified shortly thereafter. The Art History award is determined at the end of the academic year.

Previous recipients of a bursary may not apply again.

2022 Application: MacgillivrayBursaryForm2022.pdf

Recent winners of the Angus F. Macgillivray Art Studio Bursaries and Art History Prize are:

2022 Studio Art: Tanner Messenger, Meredith Stewart, and Jemma Whalen
2022 Art History Prize: TBA

2021 Studio Art: Sydney Haws, Britt Pigat, Mila Walst
2021 Art History Prize: Catharine Armstrong

2020 Studio Art: Jordyn Conn, Wankunda Chola Bwalya, and Ken Matheson
2020 Art History Prize: Theresa Olson

2019 Studio Art: Hannah Kennedy, Chelsey MacPherson, Paytan Robinson.
2019 Art History Prize: Gregory T. Nugent

2018 Studio Art: Nathalie Chicoine, Donica Larade, and Ana Lucia (Blue) Azcué Marin.
2018 Art History Prize: Chloe Gibberson

2017 Studio Art: Danny MacDonald, Alejandra Macouzet, and Trianna Maclawick. Honourable Mention: Michaella Donovan and Theresa Olsen.
2017 Art History Prize: T. James Callahan

2016 Studio Art: Emma Logan, Stephanie Robertson, and Nicole Wadden.
2016 Art History Prize: Sarah K. Beattie

2015 Studio Art: Chelsea Cameron, Hilary J. MacDonald, and Emma Tompkins.