National and Regional Teaching Award Recipients

Recent National Teaching Awards

Dr. Angie Thompson, 2010 3M Teaching Fellowship

“Angie is an activist and personal role model who was the most influential force during my time at St. FX.” Many students echo this view, saying they have been inspired, even transformed, by this charismatic teacher of human kinetics who embodies and celebrates their own aspiration to wellness, energetic enquiry, and social engagement. She lives out her university’s traditional commitment to service-learning and social justice, as she challenges her students to become advocates for health promotion in their communities and in the world. 


The transformative magic begins in her classes, where she and her students are a team who warm up their minds, work out, and cool down. Her commitment to students is unconditional: “She teaches her students first and her courses second.” True to the code of ethics and responsibility she shares with her students, Angie reaches out to places as diverse as Antigonish and a Ugandan village, supporting young people whose health and intellectual development are at risk.

Association of Atlantic Universities' Distinguished Teacher Award Recipients

Dr. Russell Wyeth, 2013 AAU Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Neil Maltby, 2012 AAU Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Ann Bigelow, 2009 AAU Instructional Leadership Award


Dr. Martin van Bommel, 2008 AAU Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Angie Thompson, 2007 AAU Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Doug Hunter, 2002 AAU Distinguished Teacher Award


Dr. Zoe Hayes, 2000 Instructional Leadership Award


Dr. Gary Brooks, 1997 Instructional Leadership Award