Guest Speaker

 Keynote Address: Friday, 19 October @ 7:30 p.m., SW 205
Dr. Eleonore Stump
The Robert J. Henle Professor of Philosophy
Saint Louis University

Dr. Stump received a B.A. in classical languages from Grinnell College (1969), where she was valedictorian and received the Archibald Prize for scholarship; she has an M.A. in Biblical Studies (New Testament) from Harvard University (1971), and an M.A. and Ph.D in Medieval Studies (Medieval Philosophy) from Cornell University (1975). Before coming to Saint Louis University, she taught at Oberlin College, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and University of Notre Dame. Currently, she also holds secondary or honorary appointments at Wuhan University and Australian Catholic University.

She has published extensively in medieval philosophy, philosophy of religion, and contemporary metaphysics. Her books include her major study Aquinas (Routledge, 2003) and her extensive treatment of the problem of evil, Wandering in Darkness: Narrative and the Problem of Suffering (Oxford, 2010).

Among the named lectureships she has given are the Gifford Lectures (Aberdeen, 2003), the Wilde lectures (Oxford, 2006), and the Stewart lectures (Princeton, 2009). In 2013, the American Catholic Philosophical Association awarded her the Aquinas medal.

She has held grants from the Danforth Foundation, the Mellon Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Association of University Women, the National Humanities Center, and the Pew Charitable Trust. In addition, she has received several teaching awards, including, in 2004, the Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching from Baylor University. For 2013-15, together with John Greco, she holds a $3.3 million grant from the John Templeton Foundation for a project on intellectual humility.

She is past president of the Society of Christian Philosophers, the American Catholic Philosophical Association, the American Philosophical Association, Central Division, and the Philosophers in Jesuit Education. She is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Previous speakers:

2017:  St. Mary's University [Stephen Stich]
2016:  Acadia University
2015:  University of New Brunswick & St. Thomas University [Andrew Chignell]
2014:  Memorial University [Alice Crary]
2013:  Dalhousie University [Philip Kitcher]
2012:  University of Prince Edward Island [Kathryn Pauly Morgan]
2011:  Mount Allison University [Frederick Beiser]
2010:  University of King's College [Robert A. Wilson]
2009:  Cape Breton University [Anthony Weston]
2008:  St. Francis Xavier University [Jerry Fodor]
2007:  St. Mary's University [Trudy Govier]
2006:  University of New Brunswick & St. Thomas University [Bernard Boxill]
2005:  Memorial University [Robert Pippin]
2004:  Dalhousie University [Ronald de Sousa]
2003:  Universite de Moncton [Kai Nielsen]
2002:  University of Prince Edward Island [Michael Ruse]
2001:  Mount Allison University [David Reeve]
2000:  University of King's College [Sandra Bartky]
1999:  University College of Cape Breton [Jonathan Glover]
1998:  St. Francis Xavier University [Peter McCormick]
1997:  Informal Meeting
1996:  Acadia University (25th Convention) [Doug Rabb]
1995:  University of New Brunswick & St. Thomas University (25th Anniversary) [Tom Hurka, Peter March & Frank Cunningham]
1994:  Memorial University of Newfoundland [Richard Rorty]
1993:  St. Mary's University [Ralph Johnson]
1992:  University of Prince Edward Island
1991:  Universite de Moncton [Conrad Sioui]
1990:  Dalhousie University (20th Convention) [Lawrence Thomas]
1989:  University College of Cape Breton (20th Anniversary) [Martha Nussbaum]
1988:  St. Francis Xavier University
1987:  Mount Allison University
1986:  postponed until 1987
1985:  University of New Brunswick & St. Thomas University [Kai Nielsen]
1984:  Acadia University
1983:  Universite de Ste. Anne [Matthew Lipman]
1982:  St. Mary's University [Storrs McColl]
1981:  Sir Wilfred Grenfell College [Jack Stevenson and Alistair MacLeod]
1980:  Universite de Moncton [Yvon Theriault]
1979:  Dalhousie University (10th Anniversary) [Leslie Armour & Louise Marcil-Lacoste]
1978:  Memorial University of Newfoundland [John Findlay]
1977:  University of Prince Edward Island [Max Cresswell]
1976:  University College of Cape Breton [Alan Montefiori and Charles Taylor]
1975:  Mount Allison University [Jan Narveson]
1974:  Acadia University
1973:  University of New Brunswick & St. Thomas University [Fraser Cowley]
1972:  St. Francis Xavier University [Thomas Langan]
1971:  Universite de Moncton
1970:  Dalhousie University & King's University (Founding Convention)  [Eva Schaper]