Dr. M.S. Gautam Prize for Fourth Year Physics

Dr.M.S. Gautam
1931 -1973
B.Sc., M.Sc. Agra University, India
Ph.D. 1966, U.B.C.


Dr. Gautam was born and raised in India, and after completing his M.Sc. at Agra University remained there as a lecturer for several years. He came to Canada and completed his Ph.D. in plasma physics at U.B.C. in 1966, the same year he joined the St.F.X. Physics Department. He and Dr. Y. N. Joshi established the research laboratory in atomic spectroscopy at St.F.X. They were active research collaborators until Dr. Gautam's tragic death in a highway accident which occurred while he was returning from a research field trip to U.N.B. The Gautam Prize was established in 1980 by his wife. It is awarded to the Honours Physics graduate with the highest average (over 80%) in the senior year.

Winners to date

1979-80 Leo MacDonald 
1980-81 Not Awarded
1981-82 Richard Valleé 
1982-83 André Weingartshofer 
1983-84 Not Awarded
1984-85 Thanh Nguyen 
1985-86 Stephen Kymlicka 
1986-87 Peter Poole 
1987-88 Martin Corsten 
1988-89 Cliff Liem 
1989-90 Gerald Corsten 
1990-91 Stephen Duncan 
1991-92 Chris Bowen 
1992-93 Mark Lumsden 
1993-94 Malcolm Stevens
1994-95 Patrick Sutton 
1995-96 Marcy Lumsden 
1996-97 Steward MacNeil 
1997-98 Not Awarded
1998-99 John MacAskill 
1999-00 Jeremy Moeller
2000-01 David Cooke
2001-02 Laura Filion
2002-03 Not Awarded
2003-04 Patrick Clancy
2004-05 Not Awarded
2005-06 David MacKenzie
2006-07 Katie Fraser / Patrick Shea
2007-08 Ron MacEachern
2008-09 Jordan Marsh
2009-10 Marielle Lespérance
2010-11 Aaron Farrell
2011-12 Not awarded
2012-13 Zachary MacDonald
2013-14 Stephen Deering
2014-15 Robyn Latimer
2015-16 Taylor Landry
2016-17 Michael Kinach
2017-18 Matt Martell
2018-19 Liam Farrell
2019-20 Thomas Hujon
2020-21 Daniel Winters